Let me get started May 12 2010

I have been doing artwork all my life, as far back as I can remember.  I’m not too bad at it, but I’ll let you be the judge of that.  I work in a number of mediums, but right now I’m working primarily painting and sculpture.  I used to call myself a surrealist, but I’m not sure anymore.

So what am I doing now?  Well, I’m working on a series of paintings with acrylic on canvas, as well as some miniature sculptures in polymer clay and then casted in a resin.  I really enjoy working in polymer clay, especially Super Sculptey and Super Sculptey firm.  I started working in Super Sculptey little over 10 years ago and really fell in love with the way this stuff works.  I have to admit it’s not the greatest for longevity, as opposed to the other forms of clay that work with, such as porcelain.  But it definitely has its place.

Super Sculptey

This was a 45 minute study of the figure in polymer clay, at my life’s drawing session.  The piece is approximately 6″ x 6″.

Super Sculptey firm.

This is a small 1.5″ x 1″ sculpture I designed for a series of collectible limited editions.

same piece casted in resin.

I find working with this substance to make models for casting an excellent way to go.  You can create a piece and then fire it into a conventional oven.  It fires at approximate 275° for approximately 25 minutes.  When it is done, you then can work on the harder structure to clean any flaws or add any more detail.  From there you can cast the peace in any medium you prefer.

Well, that’s it for today, I have to go back to work.  I’ll catch up with you next time around.
Keep on creating,
Ken

Explore posts in the same categories: art lovers, artwork in progress, creative freedom, painting, sculpting, surrealistic art

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Let me get started May 12 2010”

  1. Rob Says:

    Keep on blogging, cool stuff.


Leave a comment